Posted by: Osmyn | October 3, 2008

Tank-o-Lantern

Before

Before

I love autumn and Halloween is my favorite holiday. There is an energy in the air from the season changing, the smell of leaves turning and falling.

This year I found a welder at the farmer’s market who had turned an old propane tank into what I thought would make a great permanent jack-o-lantern. When I mentioned it, the idea hadn’t occurred to him – that’s a great thing about art though, people find new meaning in your work.

I used a can of spray paint to give it the characteristic orange of a jack-o-lantern. Then I wanted to make it a little scary, so I searched google’s images for pictures of warriors with painted faces and African masks. I’m very happy with how the project turned out!

After

After

Leave a Reply

Categories

